Perplexity leads on published limits: Perplexity Free states 3 Pro searches a day and 1 research query a month, while ChatGPT states no message count on any plan.
ChatGPT Plus costs $20 each month. Perplexity Pro costs $17 each month on the yearly plan. Data collected October 22, 2026.
Perplexity and ChatGPT consumer plans: price, stated usage limit, and ads.
Plan | Monthly billing (USD a month) | Paid for the whole year (USD a month) | Stated usage limit | Ads |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Perplexity Max | 200 | 167 | Weekly limits (advanced use), no number | Not stated |
ChatGPT Pro $200 | 200 | n/a | 20x ChatGPT Plus usage, no count | None |
ChatGPT Pro $100 | 100 | n/a | 5x ChatGPT Plus usage, no count | None |
ChatGPT Plus | 20 | n/a | No number stated | None |
Perplexity Pro | 20† | 17 | Weekly limits (average use), no number | Not stated |
Perplexity Education Pro | 10 | Not stated | Weekly limits (average use), no number | Not stated |
Perplexity Free | 0 | n/a | 3 Pro searches a day, 1 research query a month | Not stated |
ChatGPT Free | 0 | n/a | Unlimited everyday text chats, no counts for tools | Ads in five countries |
Table note: † A Perplexity post dated July 2, 2025 gives Perplexity Pro as $20 a month. The Perplexity pricing page shows no monthly rate for Perplexity Pro. n/a: the plan has no such option. Not stated: the vendor page opened says nothing on it. Rows run from the highest monthly price to the lowest.
ChatGPT Plus costs $20 each month and has no yearly option.
Perplexity Pro costs $17 each month on the yearly plan.
Perplexity Max costs $200 each month, or $167 each month when you pay for the whole year.
ChatGPT Pro at $200 is closed to new signups.
Where these figures come from
LLM Waves Research collected these figures from the Perplexity and OpenAI pages linked below and did not run either service.
Every price, limit, and ad rule comes from a vendor page read on October 22, 2026, and the full source list sits on the methodology page.
Model quality sits outside this comparison, and the model leaderboards cover it.
The six paid plans span a wide range of monthly prices.

Perplexity Education Pro, Perplexity Pro, and ChatGPT Plus cost $20 or less each month. Perplexity Max, ChatGPT Pro $100, and ChatGPT Pro $200 cost $100 or more.
Perplexity states a limit for Free only, and ChatGPT states no message count
Perplexity Free carries the only limit per period on either vendor's plan pages.
Free plans
The Perplexity plan table lists 3 Pro searches a day and 1 research query a month for Perplexity Free.
ChatGPT Free and ChatGPT Go get unlimited everyday text chats under abuse safeguards, according to the OpenAI model limits page.
Separate limits apply to file uploads, image generation, voice, and data analysis. The page gives no counts for any of them.
Paid plans
The Perplexity table gives Perplexity Pro "Weekly limits (average use)" for Pro searches and "Monthly limits (average use)" for research queries.
Perplexity Max carries the same wording with "advanced use" in place of "average use". No number appears for either plan.
The OpenAI Plus page says ChatGPT Plus can carry message caps, especially in high demand, and gives no count.
Deep research on ChatGPT Plus is listed as available where offered, with no stated limit.
A January 2026 thread in r/perplexity_ai put the worry in one line: a commenter “would not pay $20 for a quota-limited service.”
Android Authority reported on May 18, 2026, that Perplexity Pro users saw different limits from one another.
A Perplexity spokesperson told the outlet that some accounts are tied to promotional code offers and see different limits. Limits can differ between accounts on the same plan.
Counted across every consumer plan, one Perplexity plan states a limit per period and no ChatGPT plan states a message count.

Perplexity states a limit per period on 1 of 4 consumer plans. ChatGPT states a message count on 0 of 5 and a multiplier on 2 of 5.
Perplexity Max costs $400 less over 12 months when paid yearly, and ChatGPT has no yearly plan
ChatGPT Plus costs $20 for each month, per the OpenAI ChatGPT Plus page. For 12 months, that is $240.
The same page states that OpenAI does not support annual billing or paying several months ahead.
The Perplexity pricing page lists Perplexity Pro at $17 per month when you pay for the whole year. For 12 months, that is $204.
A Perplexity Max launch post dated July 2, 2025 gave Perplexity Pro as $20 a month.
The pricing page shows no monthly rate, so that figure is unconfirmed on the page opened. If $20 holds, 12 months at the monthly rate is $240, and paying for the whole year saves $36.
The Perplexity Max page lists Perplexity Max at $200 for each month, or $2,000 for the whole year. For 12 months at the monthly rate, that is $2,400. Paying for the whole year saves $400.
The Max page adds that the yearly option is only available in the web app. The pricing page shows $167 for each month on the yearly plan.
Dividing $2,000 by 12 gives $166.67, which the page rounds up.
The yearly option changes the 12-month cost of both Perplexity plans, and ChatGPT Plus has no yearly price to set beside them.

Perplexity Max falls from $2,400 to $2,000 over 12 months when paid yearly, and Perplexity Pro falls from $240 to $204. ChatGPT Plus stays at $240.
ChatGPT Pro at $100 costs $20 for each unit of Plus usage, the same as ChatGPT Plus
ChatGPT Pro $100
The OpenAI Pro page lists two plans: ChatGPT Pro $100 with 5x the usage of ChatGPT Plus, and ChatGPT Pro $200 with 20x. OpenAI does not state what 1x equals, so only price can be set against each unit.
ChatGPT Plus costs $20 for 1x. ChatGPT Pro $100 costs $100 for 5x. Dividing $100 by 5 gives $20 for each 1x, the same price for each unit as ChatGPT Plus.
ChatGPT Pro $200
ChatGPT Pro $200 costs $200 for 20x. Dividing $200 by 20 gives $10 for each 1x. As of September 10, 2026, OpenAI paused new signups and upgrades to ChatGPT Pro $200.
ChatGPT Pro $100 stays open, and existing ChatGPT Pro $200 plans continue to renew.
Perplexity Max costs $200 per month and states no multiplier, so no price for each unit can be worked out for it.
Dividing each ChatGPT price by its stated multiplier gives the cost of one unit of Plus usage.

ChatGPT Plus and ChatGPT Pro $100 both cost $20 for each unit. ChatGPT Pro $200 costs $10 and is closed to new buyers.
ChatGPT shows ads on Free and Go in five countries, and Pro shows none
The OpenAI ads page states that ads can appear on ChatGPT Free and ChatGPT Go. ChatGPT Plus, ChatGPT Pro, ChatGPT Business, ChatGPT Enterprise, and ChatGPT Edu accounts have no ads.
Ads run in the US, UK, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada. They appear below the end of a response. They do not appear in Temporary Chats, in the ChatGPT Atlas browser during the test, or near topics such as health, mental health, and politics.
The US test began on February 9, 2026. The Perplexity plan pages state nothing about ads, so the ad comparison for Perplexity has insufficient data.
Perplexity Pro has no monthly Computer credits, and Perplexity Max has 10,000
The Perplexity credits page states that consumer Perplexity Pro plans do not start with a set monthly amount of credits.
Perplexity Pro gets weekly Computer usage that resets each week and does not roll over. Perplexity Pro can also receive a one-time bonus of 4,000 credits that expires in about 30 days.
Perplexity Max gets 10,000 credits each month, and unused credits do not carry over.
Credits are used only when Computer runs. Ask searches on Perplexity never use credits.
What we did not measure
This article did not run a latency test, a throughput test, or an output quality benchmark against any model discussed.
ChatGPT Go has no price here, because the OpenAI Go page lists none. Perplexity Enterprise, ChatGPT Business, and other team plans are outside this comparison.
Prices in other currencies and prices paid through app stores are not covered. Perplexity Pro and ChatGPT Plus have no limit to compare.
API billing is outside this comparison, and the Perplexity API pricing article covers the Perplexity side.
The OpenAI API cost article covers the OpenAI side.
Which plan fits which reader
Each row names a reader, the plan that fits on the stated figures, and the condition that changes the pick.
Plan picks by reader, based on stated limits, price, billing, and ads.
Reader | Pick | Label | Condition and number |
|---|---|---|---|
Wants a stated cap on a free plan | Perplexity Free | Top pick | States 3 Pro searches a day and 1 research query a month. If you want no cap on everyday chats, ChatGPT Free fits, with ads in five countries. |
Student with university verification | Perplexity Education Pro | Best value | Costs $10 each month after a SheerID check, half of ChatGPT Plus at $20. It states no limit. |
Pays for the whole year | Perplexity Pro | Top pick | Costs $204 for 12 months against $240 for ChatGPT Plus. Fits only if you will keep the plan the full year. |
Wants a written no-ads rule on a paid plan | ChatGPT Plus | Situational | OpenAI states ChatGPT Plus has no ads at $20 each month. Perplexity has insufficient data on this point. |
Needs a step above $20 | ChatGPT Pro $100 | Top pick | States 5x ChatGPT Plus usage at $20 for each unit and is open to new buyers. Perplexity Max at $200 states no multiplier. |
Runs Computer tasks | Perplexity Max | Situational | Includes 10,000 credits each month. Perplexity Pro includes none each month, only a 4,000 credit bonus that expires in about 30 days. |
Needs a message count on a paid plan | None | Insufficient data | No paid plan from either vendor states a message count. |
Perplexity Free is the only plan that states a cap. Perplexity Pro costs $36 less than ChatGPT Plus over 12 months on the yearly plan.
ChatGPT Pro $100 costs $20 for each unit of Plus usage, and ChatGPT Plus is the paid plan with a written no-ads rule.
Is Perplexity better than ChatGPT?
The stated figures give no single winner. Perplexity states higher limit numbers and costs less on a yearly plan, while ChatGPT Plus has no ads and Perplexity has insufficient data on ads.
Model quality sits outside this comparison.
A buyer who needs an exact cap before paying should pick Perplexity Free first, since no paid plan states one.
Does Perplexity use ChatGPT models?
The Perplexity pricing page lists ChatGPT, Google Gemini, Anthropic Claude, and NVIDIA Nemotron among the models Perplexity chooses from for each query.
A Perplexity Pro user can select a preferred model, and Perplexity Max adds advanced reasoning models.
Does ChatGPT show ads?
ChatGPT shows ads on Free and Go in the US, UK, Australia, New Zealand, and Canada. ChatGPT Plus, ChatGPT Pro, ChatGPT Business, ChatGPT Enterprise, and ChatGPT Edu show none, according to OpenAI.
Is Perplexity free, and what are the free limits?
Perplexity Free costs nothing and states 3 Pro searches a day and 1 research query a month.
On Perplexity Free, Perplexity chooses the model for each query. Advanced models and image generation are not included.
Where the published numbers stop
Perplexity states a limit for its Free plan alone, and ChatGPT states multipliers for two paid plans and no counts anywhere. A buyer whose choice depends on a cap should read the Perplexity plan table and the OpenAI plan pages on the day of purchase. Support teams can be asked for the number that neither page prints.
